A Day Trip To Brussels

 

I had a day trip to Brussels when I was in Cologne, Germany in 2009. I took the early morning Thalys high speed train from Cologne to Brussels. I reached Brussels around 10 AM in the morning and from the train station I decided to walk to the City Center. The first interesting attraction I saw on the road side was a Giant Trumpet. I took a few photos of it and moved ahead to the City.

I reached the Grand Place, the most famous attraction point. It was very crowded as lots of tourists were taking photos there. Grand Place is a UNESCO heritage site located in the heart of the city. After spending sometime there I walked in the city area and just took some photos and then went to the place from where I can take the Hope On Hope Bus.

I boarded a hop on hop off and stopped first at St. Michael Cathedral Church. From there I went directly to the Atomium Building, an iconic building in Brussels originally constructed for Expo ’58, the 1958 Brussels World’s Fair.
There is a Mini Europe, a miniature park located in Bruparck at the foot of the Atomium. The park has reproductions of the most attractive monuments in Europe. It has almost 350 models. I spent quite some time there and then boarded back into a Hop on Hop Off Bus.

Next Stop was the Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History. Its a huge museum and entry is free. It has an excellent collection of military artifacts and historical references. I spent sometime there then walked in the Cinquantenaire Park taking photos of The triumphal arch(A horseshoe-shaped arcade).

Next I went to the Royal Palace. I did not get chance to go inside as it was already 5 PM and was closed. I took some photos there and further walked to the Church of Our Lady of Laeken. After spending some peaceful moments inside the church,I boarded another Hop On Hop Off Bus.

On the way, I took photos of European Parliament, Place du Petit Sablon Garden and A Church.

It was almost getting dark when I reached the Grand place. I took a few night photos and headed towards the famous attraction, Manneken Pis, a small statue of a little boy peeing. Its very near to Grand place. I just walked to it though it took me sometime to find it as it was located in a non-descript crossing between two small streets. I took few photos of it and I headed back to the train station to go back to Cologne. Overall I had a wonderful time that day.

Tip:Click on a photo to see slide show

16 comments on “A Day Trip To Brussels

  1. We’re about to go the other way – from London through Brussels to Cologne for a few days. We thought about stopping over in Brussels for a day but didn’t really have the time. Your post makes me think perhaps we should have found that extra day…

  2. You seem to be leaning to the side sometimes. I do that as well. And because of that I use ShiftN, a freeware program by Markus Hebel. Just google it, if you’re interested. It straightens pictures and removes perspective distortion.

Leave a Reply

