Driving to Mount Evans (A road into the sky)

Here is my first post on Colorado trip. We drove to Mount Evans Peak. Mount Evans is one of 54 fourteeners and the road is the highest paved road in North America. The whole scenic byway is so beautiful. On the way to Mount Evans there are two beautiful lakes Echo Lake and Summit Lake.

Here are a few pics taken by me. Please comment.

Echo Lake, Mount Evans

Image

Echo Lake

Image

Summit Lake, Mount Evans

Image

Road to Mount Evans

Image

Mount Evans

Image

Top of Mount Evans

Image

Wild life on Mount Evans

31 comments on “Driving to Mount Evans (A road into the sky)

  1. Beautiful deep blue sky and lake. Your images convey that feeling of silence, peacefully & timelessness. It reminds me of the cold water and pure air in those mountains. And a great mountain goat image. Thank you.

  2. Having lived in Denver, I recall several trips over the years headed up that mountain. It truly is a spectacular ride and the end of the road makes it all so very worthwhile. I also recall thinking it would be open in the later spring months only to find that deep snow kept us from getting there. Anyway, thanks also very much for liking my post “More Utah Monoliths”. Both UT and CO are magnificent!

  3. Stunning and serene images… I love the goat! I’ve never seen one like that before. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  4. Great pictures! Living in the Denver area myself, I usually make the drive up Mt. Evans at least once a year. It truly is a spectacular drive! And, you are usually treated to seeing mountain goats on the peak somewhere!

  5. Hi, and thanks for stopping by my blog. Your first and last pictures (Echo Lake & the mountain goat) caught my eye for these two reasons: both were well-composed and both told unspoken stories. That’s what I try to do with my photographs – tell stories. Just saw Yellowstone, Devil’s Tower & Mount Rushmore in September and your pictures of them brought back great memories. Thanks! – Cheryl

Leave a comment